Large File Storage
Large File Storage management
Billing model for LFS
Nuvolos uses a subscription model for Large File Storage. To use it, you must have a valid Nuvolos subscription, which is independent from LFS subscriptions.
When you purchase Large File Storage, you prepay in Credits for the selected capacity and period. Rental is perpetual: the system automatically renews on the next billing date due, unless you explicitly cancel.
Renewal happens at prices prevailing on the renewal date, based on third-party cloud storage quotes. The system sends multiple notification emails before renewal to confirm expected costs.
If you cancel an LFS subscription, the storage remains available until the end of the prepaid period. Refunds are not available for cancellation ahead of time.
Deletion of LFS
Since large file storages can host critical data, it is important to understand what circumstances can lead to the deletion of the data inside a large file storage:
Cancelled storage subscription If you cancel your storage subscription, the data in the cancelled storage will be removed after the prepaid period has ended.
Expired Nuvolos subscription If your Nuvolos subscription expires, all large file storage associated with it will be terminated after the corresponding resource pool expiration date has passed.
Insufficient funds If you don't have enough credits to prepay for the next period, your large file storage will be automatically deleted, if you have outstanding payments due for more than 30 days.
How to add an LFS
If you are a Resource Pool Manager, you can add a new Large File Storage on the Monitoring Dashboard under the Large File Storage item. When creating the storage, you are asked to type name for your storage, that will help you identify them later. You also need to select the size of the storage.
How to upgrade the storage capacity
Once a Large File Storage is created, you can either change the name that you provided when creating, or increase the size if needed. When upgrading the storage capacity, your Resource Pool will only incur the differential cost between the initial cost of storage and the cost of the upgraded storage.
Upon the upgrade of the storage capacity, the subscription is subjected to a renewal process, where the cost differential is computed accordingly.
If you wish to decrease the size of your large file storage by the next billing date, please reach out to us via a support request. Note that you'll need to remove excess data first for the decrease to be possible.
How to cancel an existing LFS
In case you do not intend to renew your storage subscription, you can cancel it until the next payment date indicated on the corresponding File Share's tile by clicking on the modify button and select the Cancel storage option.
Upon cancellation the storage will remain accessible for the entire period that has already been paid, but will be irrevocably deleted along with its contents once it expires. The expiry date is indicated on the cancelled File Shares' tile as Available until.
Working with Large File Storage
Visibility of LFS in Spaces
Nuvolos has a natural separation of privileges in term of billing and actual consumption. Resource pool managers can purchase additional storage, which can be then consumed (attached) to spaces by space administrators. No matter how many spaces are using the storage, credit charges will always be made to the purchasing resource pool.
So how does access control work for Large File Storage?
A Large File Storage purchased in resource pool 'R' is visible (attachable) only in spaces where at least the credit-based services are mapped to resource pool 'R'. You can check the resource pool configuration of a space in the Course/Project/Dataset Configuration menu.
To change these setting, you need to be a space administrator and a resource pool manager at the same time.
Attach LFS to a Space
If your storage is created and visible to your space, you can start using it. In order to actually access the storage for read/write operations, Space Administrators need to attach them to a Space under the Course/Project configuration menu, on the Additional Storage tab.
When attaching a storage, you are requested to select one of the available File Storages that you would like to access from all applications in the space and to provide a folder name where the storage will be available. The folder with your chosen name will always be placed under a default folder: /space_mounts/.
Attaching a storage in a read only mode will result in forbidden write operations from all applications and all users in the space, including Space Administrators. However, Space Administrators can update the mode as well as the path.
Once attached, the storage will be available in all applications in the space after restarting them under the path that is displayed in the Path column. Path updates and read only option updates also require application restart to take effect. In order to browse the files in the storage, you need to launch an application as they are not visible on the Nuvolos UI.
Detach LFS
Space Administrators can detach File Storages from the space on the same screen where they attach them. It is paramount to highlight that this operation does not result in data loss as the storage still exists, but is not available from the applications in the space. In case you need the storage, you can just attach it again and you can continue working with the data stored there as long as the storage exists. Note that attaching/detaching the storage also requires application restart to take effect.
Usage and warnings
To reduce costs and enable collaborative work, all users in the given space access the same files and folders in the given File Share. This means that if a large dataset is uploaded, you do not need to distribute to make them available to the students and other coworkers as they can access the same storage on the path provided.
In case write operations are allowed, users can accidentally override files and folders created by other Instance Editors. Also beware that Large File Storage does not support snapshot creation, so be cautious when allowing write operations.
Last updated
Was this helpful?